I happened upon this beautiful poem.
Not flesh of my flesh
Nor bone of my bone,
But still miraculously my own.
Never forget for a single minute,
You didn’t grow under my heart
But in it.

Written in 1952 by Fleur Conklin Heyliger for The Saturday Evening Post, it was inspired by the feelings of adoptive parents. Of course it is absolutely applicable to the situation of any "non-bio" parent. 
Picture
From this.
Exactly one year ago today, Kay and I found out we were having a baby (and I put up the first post for this blog). As you, my lovely readers, have witnessed: a lot has happened since then! Our little dude is 162 days old and amazing! And I am in daily awe of how wonderful Kay is as a mother and how equally wonderful I am as a mother. This whole parent thing truly is a daring adventure!

I know there are many people out there who feel the need to pass on their genes. It is the evolutionary imperative of all living things, after all! I have never been one of those people, but I certainly hope it doesn't matter to Carrick which womb he came out of. I love him as if he was a part of me and truly hope he feels the same way and can carry the message of that poem in his heart. Always. Without a doubt.

And when the time comes to tell him about his paternity, we will be entirely honest about his midi-chlorian bio-dads! 

Thank you so much to all of you for reading!
Picture
To this.
Picture
To this beautiful boy.
In honour of the feelings from my first post, a repeat quote:

Love shook my heart
Like the wind on the mountain
rushing over the oak trees. 

— trans. Josephine Balmer, Poems & Fragments, 1984
Tiff
7/22/2014 03:10:30 pm

Great post Jen, thanks for reminding me how much a part of me they still will be. :)

Reply
Jen Duffy
7/23/2014 12:04:28 pm

Thanks, Tiff. Loving them is the easiest thing you'll ever do!!

Reply
Ngroves
7/23/2014 03:13:05 pm

Thanks Jen - so beautiful.

Reply



Leave a Reply.