It has been drawn to my attention (by my single reader) that it is a cruel, cruel thing to have left the blog un-updated at such a place in the plot. What were the results of the Nuchal Translucency scan? Did anyone get eaten by the Smilodon?! As Darwintoo: Stormageddon (Stormy or StormyD for short) is showing you in her pic below, all is thumbs up! Here is some updatey goodness for you!
Stormy chose to cooperate with her scan this time! Her mothers, on the other hand, totally forgot protocol and showed up with empty bladders. Mine wasn't too much of a concern to anyone but K got in some trubs from the less-than-enthused technician. I understand that the instructions are there for a reason but I don't imagine that being grumpy with pregnant ladies is a very good strategy; depending on the way the hormones are rolling at that particular moment, you're liable to get tears, frustration, or homicide in return!  A vague disclaimer is nobody's friend so consider yourselves warned, ultrasound techs of the world.  

We did all survive, however, and once the tech left, I got brave enough to steal some pictures (they do give us two on disc but I am very responsible to my reader (this lack of update notwithstanding!) so needed to ensure I had the pics I wanted). We are ecstatic to report that the scan results came back normal. StormyD was 6.96 cm at that time (13weeks) and seems to be coming along quite nicely, if I do say so myself!!
The tech seemed to relax a little once she knew she had the pictures she needed. She did give us a friendly warning that if she hadn't been able to, we would have had to resort to -heaven forbid- an internal ultrasound! We quickly lost any ground we had gained with her when we were unfazed by this threat. Although highly unenjoyable and invasive procedures, internal ultrasounds are a near-daily occurrence for anyone seeking fertility treatment. Stay tuned to see if we remember to have Kay drink enough water next time...
I have a daughter,
Claïs fair,
Poised like a golden flower in the air,
Lydian treasures her limbs outshine
(Claïs, beloved one,
Claïs mine!)
~Claïs -translated by H. de Vere Stacpoole (on blackcatpoems.com
Rrrrrrrwyn's Husband
10/12/2013 04:50:13 pm

So I just want to point out my confusion as I looked at the pictures. It will not surprise you at all, especially coming from me, that in the lower left 2 pictures, I didn't see StormyD, but a reindeer. If you look at the black portion above our beloved Stormy, yes it's looks like Rudolf. In my excitement to know someone who's belly glowed red during their pregnancy (that must come at week 23 or so?), I realized that all the other unborns might laugh, and call Stormagedden names. But to my relief, my eye's refocussed and low and behold there was the real Stormy! All 2.740157 inches of the darling little child. So excited for you two (metric system) loving parents! Thanks for the updates, dear blogess, we are grateful however frequently they come!

Reply
Christie
10/13/2013 12:29:04 am

Yay! New post! And with pictures of Stormy, which is even better!

I'm so happy the test results were good!

Reply
Jen Duffy
10/16/2013 07:39:55 am

:D It totally does (although the right one looks less Rudolph and more skinny elephant)!!! I will keep you updated about any belly glowing!

Reply
Jen Duffy
10/16/2013 07:40:46 am

Me too!!!!! And thanks for being my single reader!

Reply



Leave a Reply.