At 11:13am (MST) I turned 39. Kay and I are celebrating by doing things we won't get to do again once StormyD shows up! That is: sleeping in, going to a fabulous dinner (last night at Corso 32) and a movie tonight (Ender's Game). 

>>Small but important aside here: Ender's Game is Kay's favourite book. Unfortunately the author, Orson Scott Card, believes that "laws against homosexuality should remain on the books...to send a clear message that those who flagrantly violate society's regulation of sexual behavior cannot be permitted to remain as acceptable, equal citizens within that society". I believe he is referring to the laws and members
of his Church, the Latter-Day Saints, however (and quite obviously) I don't believe anyone deserves this kind of hatred (and I know many Mormons who agree with me). OSC is entitled to his beliefs. I am happy to not support him in them. And herein lies the conundrum: how do we go to the movie without supporting him?! Here was my solution: I used my Scene points to buy the tickets (maybe he won't get any money from those!) and I donated the cost of the tickets to our local Pride Centre. I believe my crisis of conscious is assuaged and I am quite happy to support the gay-allied cast and crew of the film.<<
Picture
StormyD's foot (kicking Orson Scott Card!)!
Jeepers, that 'small' aside became a little charged, didn't it?! I want StormyD to grow up in a world where the mere fact that you are in love with someone who loves you back far outweighs the sex of either of you. And despite the putrescence (Boo!) spewed of the likes Orson Scott Card, I have great hope that this will happen. 

So, Kay, StormyD and I are just over half-way there (livin' on a prayer!). We have been lucky enough to have 5 ultrasounds! As I have stated before, as the non-incubating mom, this is a truly wonderful way me to connect with our wee one. The one other thing we are doing today for my birthday is heading to see the OB-GYN for a check-up. Being greeted by StormyD's heartbeat again will be a perfect gift! 

I hope you all enjoy my day of birth!
As love then is the power
that none can disobey, 
so too my thoughts must follow
my darling far away:
~On what is best (poemhunter.com)
Ryan Todd
11/18/2013 05:26:17 am

Why does the last ultrasound look like Jon Bon Jovi?

Reply
Jen Duffy
11/18/2013 12:46:15 pm

Because that's was StormyD looks like. Hmm, might be a clue as to the donor...

And I've fixed the link to that vid, in case you'd like to get Livin' on a Prayer stuck in your head!

Reply



Leave a Reply.