The first ultrasound is amazeballs! I wasn't sure what I was expecting but nothing could prepare me for the power of seeing our baby (who is called Darwintoo and considered a girl for now) for the first time. And that heartbeat brought me to tears (and is again as I write this :)). Both K and I found ourselves uttering very obvious things like "there's a baby in there"! I wasn't even that eloquent but at least I didn't go into sci-fi because I was definitely thinking about Aliens.
For me, as the non-incubating mom, this gave me a chance to really be a part of the pregnancy. Don't get me wrong, I have been lucky enough to go to all appointments in our 2 year journey (which has included all the fun that goes along with 4 IUI's and one frozen transfer IVF) and am a (potentially over-) involved wife, but because Darwintoo's ontogeny isn't happening inside of me it can be easy to feel disconnected. Seeing and hearing this wee, grape-sized being with a hummingbird heart-rate (at 175bpm!) wiped that disconnection away completely.
--oh it
puts the heart in my chest on wings
for when I look at you, even a moment
~compiled by Sean B Palmer



Leave a Reply.