They say that pregnant women experience vivid dreams. This seems to be a function of funky hormones as well as better dream recall due to frequent waking (if the baby moves or the bladder calls).
The other night I was just moving to get up and go to the bathroom myself (I seem to be experiencing a sympathetic pregnancy, by the way!) and K bolted upright aggressively asking me "What are you doing to my ankles?!"

I froze and was stunned into silence; a little afraid that anything I did might set her off even further (who knows how far she'd go to protect those ankles?)!

I finally assured her that I had done nothing to her ankles, nor would I, and she went back to sleep.
Ah, sleep I cannot: soft-cushioned bed
Wooes never my wearied frame to sleep; 
No pillow brings rest to my throbbing head. 
From my couch, as one in a nightmare, I leap.
~Torments of Love; translated by Arthur S Way (blackcatpoems)




Leave a Reply.